Christmas Eve

This photo on Christmas Eve represents a very special moment in time for me.  This Christmas is not my year to “have my daughters” with me and so on these every-other-year holidays, I often wonder how I am going to handle it…and, of course, I pray and ask God for strength to make it through.  Our dear friends, Liz & Johan, invited us this year to spend Christmas Eve with them at their home.  Liz’s sister, Amy, and her family were there as well as Liz’ friend Theresa and her family…so the house was FILLED with kids, laughter, noise, great food and fun.

Early in the evening, I began to ask the families to pose in front of the tree so that I could then give them some group photos.  Amy kindly asked if Darryl and I would like to have a photo with just us in front of the tree…I was thrilled!  So, D and I plopped down on the floor for our photo.  Suddenly, as if a giant magnet was turned on, some of the kids rushed into the picture and surrounded us (as you see here).  The parents in the room began pulling the kids off us and telling them to leave us alone so that we could get a shot without anyone else in it.  I thought to myself “are you kidding, this is wonderful!” and I told the parents to let them stay…and this is why you see this giant smile on my face.  My own kids couldn’t be with me this year, but THE GREAT PROVIDER landed some kids on my lap, even if only temporary…then again, kids are always temporary anyway…they always grow up.

pc240047_2

2 Responses to “Christmas Eve”

  1. Love the blog and LOVE this photo of you and Darryl! You look so happy and loved!!!

    Merry Christmas (make it last all year!) and Happiest of New Years to you dear girlfriend!

    BIG hugs, Debba

  2. We don’t know what we would do without you guys in our lives…in our hearts…and in our home! You are family to us!! Looking forward to sharing more holidays with you!! And I LOVE the picture!!! So precious!!

    Love, Liz

Leave a Reply

