Tip #6 — baby steps & mini-goals

Do I have big goals written out on paper…yup.  Do I accomplish these goals…most not.  However, I do accomplish the mini-goals that lead up to the mini goal!  I am a dreamer.  A friend once said that if no one is laughing at the bigness of your dreams, then you are not dreaming big enough (or something like that).  So, my tip of the day is, go ahead and dream big and set big goals…but also write a bunch of mini-goals that you can successfully achieve that will lead up to the goal.  Raise your hand if this makes sense…hmmm, I can’t see you…leave a comment since I can’t see you.

3 Responses to “Tip #6 — baby steps & mini-goals”

  1. You know I have been putting off tackling my house. I have so many things that need to be done there. It’s more overwhelming to me than losing weight. I am going to sit down and work on making some goals for my house. You’ve inspired me tonight.

  2. Another way to put that would be to say, “What you *think* will happen…..will happen.”
    So, if you limit what you think can happen…what happens will be limited. If you think big…then it is probable that big things WILL happen!!

  3. everythinginorder Says:

    Teresa, I agree it can feel overwhelming. I am going to post on that subject one day soon. I think if you have an agreement with a buddy or a friend to tackle it along side you (perhaps an exchange to do the same for them), just like a workout buddy, the support can be just the missing piece of the puzzle to get you moving.

    Liz, you reminded me of what my friend Yvette said in a speech she gave at a graduation “If people aren’t laughing at your dreams, then you are probably not dreaming big enough.”

    I think we need to start a separate section on big dreams. I’m wondering what yours are.

Leave a Reply

