God and the socks

p1270003

If you are one of the tens of people who lurk about here, and if you know me even a little bit, you know that “having a place for everything and everything in it’s place” is a motto I try to live with but never quite achieve. Okay, now that I’ve set the tone let me explain why you’ve logged on here and see a photo of my husband’s socks laying on the floor.

I’ve been married to my best friend for seven years now. In those seven years I have begged and pleaded with him to put his socks away and NOT LEAVE THEM ON THE FREAKING FLOOR!!! Are you with me? Do you feel my passion. I think it is more than disgusting to bend over and pick up dirty socks like picking up a dead mouse my cat has killed in the backyard. Ewwww!

Okay then, so after all these years of expressing my utmost displeasure at his horrible habit of leaving his socks on the floor, do you think it has changed his behavior one bit? I’ll give you a minute to ponder.

Correct, the answer is NO.

However, as I study scripture and use the Bible as a compass to chart my way through life, I cannot find anywhere…believe me I looked…any kind of admonition to our dear brethren, our brothers in the Lord, our sweet husbands, the kings of our castles…that they should strive on a daily basis to pick up their stinking socks. If I could find the scripture, I would print it out in beautiful typography with a gold frame and hang it where he can see it.

Sadly enough, I do find scripture in Proverbs about how a NAGGING WIFE is like a dripping faucet and in another place how it is better to live in the corner of an attic than in a big house with a nagging wife. This strikes me as hilarious because wasn’t this stuff written like a million years ago…you mean they had nagging wives back then, too? Maybe some things never change.

I suppose you wish I’d get to the point so here tis: I very humbly and sincerely asked God to give me some kind of little reminder every day…kind of like a “God tickler file”…something to remind me daily to pray for my husband. You got it. The socks are the reminder that God has set up for me. It’s just like Him to do this in a funny, creative way. I love that about Him. Today’s prayer for my husband, as I picked up his socks went something like this

“God, bless this sweet man. These are the socks he wore yesterday afternoon as he chopped the remaining chunks of firewood in our backyard so I would have fire in the potbelly stove all day. Thank you that today he has a job to go to…that he is healthy and strong…I pray that you will protect him as he drives through the snow and ice…Thank you God for softening my heart and turning me into a beautiful wife instead of nagging, b*@#Cthy wife like that woman in the Proverbs. Amen.”

4 Responses to “God and the socks”

  1. My husband leaves his socks on the floor INSIDE OUT so not only do I pick them up, I feel that I have to stick my hand inside them and turn them rightside out to throw them in the hamper. YUCK!

    Sue 🙂
    http://www.slotsaroundtheclock.com
    @slots777 on Twitter

  2. everythinginorder Says:

    Sue,

    You’re a better woman than I. I would just throw them in the wash and wash them inside out.

    Carole

  3. Brilliant, Carole. My 4 yo’s prayer this evening was “thank you God for the stinky bwokli that makes me strong.”

  4. everythinginorder Says:

    Melody, getting a “brilliant” from you is the highlight of my day! I love your daughter’s stinky bwokli comment…precious.

Leave a Reply

